H1B visa interview form 221g in Dubai

Hi Anil,

I’ve been working on H1B status since 2014 in the US. I came on vacation to Dubai in December. I’m an Indian citizen but I grew up in Dubai and my mom still lives here. I attended my H1B visa interview on December 6th and the consular officer approved my visa and kept my passport.

On 12th December my passport was returned to me without a visa and my status online was updated to Administrative Processing. There were no instructions given and they did not ask for any more documents or information. This is the web link the consulate pointed me to for case approved but passport returned without visa dubainiv.net

Since then there have been no updates and I’m still waiting. I was supposed to fly back to the US on Jan 7th. I’ve sent an email to the consulate a couple of times, most recent was today since it’s been over 10 weeks since 12th December. I get the same generic response that it’s under Administrative Processing, they don’t need any documents from me and that I will be informed by email when processing is complete.

My employer and some lawyers I’ve contacted said nothing to do but wait. Any idea what could be taking so long? I would really appreciate any guidance on this! I do not work with sensitive technology, nor were my job responsibilities discussed in the interview.

Thank you,
Ab

I can understand your situation but there is nothing that can be done at this time with your case except waiting.

Do you work for your employer full time or it is vendor client set up?
Have you changed your US addresses multiple times while you were working in USA?

I’m in an employer client set up. I’ve been with the same client for the last 4 years. I’ve been living in Boston, MA since September 2014 and since I’ve been on H1 status. Within Boston I’ve had 3 addresses including my current one.